Chapter History

The "Amazing" Alpha Omicron Sigma chapter was chartered December 29, 1944 by seven distinguished women:
Soror Mary Carter-Southwestern Regional Syntaktes, Soror Maudies Baker, Soror Juanita Hall, Soror Lurlean Hillard, Soror Myrtle Joiner, Soror Lillie Jones, and Soror Illistene Webster.

The graduate chapter advises two undergraduate chapters in the North Texas area. They are Gamma Iota at Paul Quinn College, advised by Soror Denita Branch and the Eta Alpha at the University of North Texas, advised by Soror Veronica Walker. The chapter has an extremely active Rhoer and Philo club.

Recently, Alpha Omicron Sigma received awards for Best Scrapbook, Best Project Reassurance Display, and Best National Program Display (2012) and Best Chapter Display (2014) at the Southwestern Region Conference.

Distinguished Sorors from Alpha Omicron Sigma chapter include:

Quindonell Robertson, Southwestern Regional Campus Chapter Coordinator (1963 -1967) SW Regional Syntaktes (1967-1971), member of the National Board of Directors (1967-1971) and National Boule Hostess 1971;
Jennifer Jones, Southwestern Regional Tamiochus (2000-2002), International Sgt-At-Arms (2000-2002);
Karla Fuller, Esq., International Legal Advisor (1990-1992) and (1998-2000);
Dr. Jacquecola Lott, Southwestern Regional Epistoleus (2000-2001);
Miesha Butler, Southwestern Regional Elections Chair (2008-2010);
Henry Etta O'Neal, Southwestern Regional Syntaktes (2012-2016),
Southwestern Regional Undergraduate Chapter Coordinator and International Board Member (elected 2002), Southwestern Regional Undergraduate Chapter Coordinator (2008-2012)

Past Chapter Basileli
include Soror Lillie Jones, Maudie Baker, Erma George, Lorrayne Jordan, Maurine Stevenson, Ruby Thompson, Vassie Bell, Quindonell Robertson, Johnnie Willis,
Carolyn Lewis, Jennifer Jones, Dr. Jacqueola Lott, Henry Etta O'Neal, Paula Alexander and Quiana P. Sawyer, Miesha Butler