Sigma History

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was organized on November 12, 1922, in Indianapolis, Indiana, by seven young educators: Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Vivian White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Annette Dulin Redford, Bessie Mae Downey Rhoades Martin and Cubena McClure. The group became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to Alpha chapter at Butler University.


From seven young educators, Sigma Gamma Rho has become an international service organization comprised of women from every profession. Sigma Gamma Rho offers its members opportunities to develop their unique talents through leadership training and involvement in sorority activities. Sorority activities provide an atmosphere where friendships and professional contacts are developed which often lead to bonds that last a lifetime. Learn more about the rich heritage of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. by visiting the Sorority's national website


During the 14th Boule held in New York, New York December 27-30, 1939, the Grand Chapter voted to establish the Southwestern Region of the sorority. Over the course of the subsequent months, the strategy for the region's organization was developed under the leadership of Soror Mary Scales Greenwood of the Gamma Sigma Chapter of Houston,Texas.  Soror Greenwood became the First Syntaktes of the Southwestern Region and during her tenure as Syntaktes (1940-1948) most of the region's chapters were organized.


Although the Southwestern Region was officially established in 1940, there was a strong presence in the southern part of the country dating back to 1928. Six educators interested in furthering the sorority's mission organized and established the Alpha Lambda Chapter at Texas Southern University and Gamma Sigma Alumnae Chapters of Houston, Texas in 1928. Alpha Lambda and Gamma Sigma also hosted the first Boule held in the Southwestern Region December 27-29, 1938 in Houston. Since its establishment, the region has contributed to the Sorority's legacy and from its delegation key components for the organization have been birthed.


The mission of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. is to enhance the quality of life for women and their families in the U.S. and globally through community service, civil, and social action. Our goal is to achieve greater progress in the areas of education, health awareness, and leadership development. Our members, affiliates, staff, and community partners work to create and support initiatives that align with our vision.


We visualize a world in which all women and their families reach their full potential in all aspects of life and are able to create unlimited opportunities for future generations.

Alpha Omicron Sigma History

The "Amazing" Alpha Omicron Sigma chapter was chartered December 29, 1944 by seven distinguished women: Soror Mary Carter - past Southwestern Regional Syntaktes, Soror Maudies Baker, Soror Juanita Hall, Soror Lurlean Hillard, Soror Myrtle Joiner, Soror Lillie Jones, and Soror Illistene Webster.


The graduate chapter advises three undergraduate chapters in the North Texas area. They are Gamma Iota at Paul Quinn College, advised by Soror Cheryl Edinbyrd, the Eta Alpha at the University of North Texas, advised by Soror Quiana Sawyer and Mu Zeta at Texas A&M Commerce advised by Soror Kimberly Sawyer. The chapter has an extremely active Rhoer and Philo club.


Recently, Alpha Omicron Sigma received awards for Best Scrapbook, Best Project Reassurance Display, and Best National Program Display (2012) and Best Chapter Display (2014) at the Southwestern Region Conference.


Distinguished Sorors from Alpha Omicron Sigma chapter include:

Quindonell Robertson, Southwestern Regional Campus Chapter Coordinator (1963 -1967) SW Regional Syntaktes (1967-1971), member of the National Board of Directors (1967-1971) and National Boule Hostess 1971;

Jennifer Jones, Southwestern Regional Tamiochus (2000-2002), International Sgt-At-Arms (2000-2002);

Karla Fuller, Esq., International Legal Advisor (1990-1992) and (1998-2000);

Dr. Jacquecola Lott, Southwestern Regional Epistoleus (2000-2001);

Miesha Butler, Southwestern Regional Elections Chair (2008-2010);

Henry Etta O'Neal, Southwestern Regional Syntaktes (2012-2016),

Southwestern Regional Undergraduate Chapter Coordinator and International Board Member (elected 2002), Southwestern Regional Undergraduate Chapter Coordinator (2008-2012)

Quiana Sawyer, Southwestern Regional Tamiochus (2016-present)


Past Chapter Basileli include Soror Lillie Jones, Maudie Baker, Erma George, Lorrayne Jordan, Maurine Stevenson, Ruby Thompson, Vassie Bell, Quindonell Robertson, Johnnie Willis, Carolyn Lewis, Jennifer Jones, Dr. Jacqueola Lott, Henry Etta O'Neal, Paula Alexander, Quiana P. Sawyer, Miesha Butler, and Robin Birt.

Executive Board

Robin Birt



1st Anti-Basileus

Denita Branch

2nd Anti-Basileus

Mariela Salas

3rd Anti-Basileus

Helaine Smith

4th Anti-Basileus

Kamisha Knight


Jasmine Ervin


Kimberly Sawyer


Keadra Jeter


Brandy Dawson


Tenasia Pagano

Sargeant at Arms

Keisha Williams-Lankford


Keadra Jeter

Philo Coordinator

Awnya Creque

Rhoer Coordinator

Committee Chairs

Kimberly Sawyer


Brandy Dawson


Olivia Rutledge


Kim Shavers

Community Service

Jheri Thornton



Membership Development

Danelle Adeniji

Scholarship & Social Action

Kamisha Knight


Keadra Jeter


Henry Etta O'Neal


Robin Birt

Awards & Achievement

Alpha Omicron Sigma Chapter of

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.


Address:  PO Box 700806, Dallas, TX 75370

© 1944 - 2020 Alpha Omicron Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

AOS Sorors Only